Comparison

Leyton vs Kene Partners for R&D Tax Claims: Fees and Enquiry Support (2026)

Leyton vs Kene Partners for R&D tax claims: this page sets out what each firm publishes about fees, minimum fees, HMRC enquiry support, sectors and reviews. Neither firm states a fee in the sources we checked (27 October 2026), so it says so plainly, shows what is published, and lists what to ask each firm in writing.

By the Uplift Tax Editorial Team · Facts checked 27 October 2026 6 min read

Quick answer: Neither Leyton UK nor Kene Partners states a fee in the sources we checked on 27 October 2026, so a price comparison is not possible until you hold written quotes. What is published: Leyton lists capital allowances; Kene Partners lists 17+ industries and has 56 Trustpilot reviews at 4.8. Ask both for the fee basis, minimum fee and enquiry terms in writing.

At a glance: facts checked 27 October 2026

Facts checked 27 October 2026. Sources: Leyton UK website, Kene Partners about page, Kene Partners on Trustpilot, Companies House for Leyton UK Limited and Kene Partners Limited. We show no Leyton Trustpilot figure because none is in the sources we checked for this page.

Criterion Leyton UK Kene Partners
Typical fee %Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)
Fee modelNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)
Minimum feeNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)
HMRC enquiry supportNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)
Sector focusNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)17+ industries, from tech to manufacturing (Kene Partners about page, checked 27 October 2026)
Trustpilot rating, count and dateNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)4.8 from 56 reviews on Trustpilot, checked 27 October 2026
Capital allowances offeredYes, listed on its UK website (checked 27 October 2026)Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)
Companies House status, number and last accounts dateActive; company number 06977112; last accounts made up to 30 June 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 October 2026)Active; company number 10813376; last accounts made up to 30 September 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 October 2026)

Best for

Leyton UK may suit you if

  • you want capital allowances looked at by the same firm, because it lists that service.

Kene Partners may suit you if

  • your sector is among the 17+ industries it lists, from tech to manufacturing;
  • you want a firm with a larger number of Trustpilot reviews to read (56, checked 27 October 2026).

When neither is the better choice

If a published price is your first test, neither page helps, and a firm that states its fee may be an easier comparison. If you already hold a written quote you are happy with, you do not need this page. Compare the same claim, year and scope, and do not rank firms by review score alone.

Worked example: a £200,000 claim

Figures are for illustration on a £200,000 benefit (the cash value of the claim to the company) and use only fees published in the sources linked on this page. Neither firm states a fee in the sources we checked (27 October 2026), so there is nothing to calculate for them.

Firm Published fee basis Fee on £200,000 Net to the company
Leyton UKNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)Not published; ask for a written quoteNot published
Kene PartnersNot stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026)Not published; ask for a written quoteNot published

For dated context only, two other firms do publish fees. They are not part of this comparison, and the figures are not a recommendation:

Firm and Companies House status Published fee Fee on £200,000 Net to the company
EmpowerRD: Active; company number 10785149; last accounts made up to 31 May 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 October 2026)6% flat; minimum fee from £4,000 (pricing page, checked 27 October 2026)£200,000 × 6% = £12,000£188,000
Tax Cloud: Myriad Developments Ltd (trading as Tax Cloud); Active; company number 07517446; last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 October 2026)5% up to £200,000, 2.5% above; minimum fee £2,750 plus VAT (pricing page, checked 27 October 2026)£200,000 × 5% = £10,000, plus VAT£190,000 before VAT on the fee

Where the other firms' pages did not state VAT, confirm it in writing.

Uplift Tax: The fee is quoted in writing for your claim, so we do not show a figure here. Send your numbers and we will arrange a written estimate.

Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. See how our fees work.

What is published, and what is not

Published (checked 27 October 2026): Leyton UK lists capital allowances on its UK website; Kene Partners lists 17+ industries, from tech to manufacturing, on its about page, and has 56 reviews at 4.8 on Trustpilot. Not stated in the sources we checked, for either firm: the fee, the fee model, the minimum fee and HMRC enquiry support. For Leyton we also show no sector focus or Trustpilot figure, and for Kene no capital allowances. Each gap means we did not find a source, not that the firm lacks the service.

Reviews and what the counts mean

Kene Partners showed 4.8 from 56 reviews on Trustpilot on 27 October 2026. We show no Leyton figure, so there is no like-for-like count here. Even with two figures, a score reflects the experiences of people who chose to review, not the outcome of any claim, and it changes over time. If you look at a Trustpilot listing for either firm, check that it covers the UK business and read recent reviews rather than the headline score.

What to ask both firms in writing

Because neither states a fee, ask each for: the fee basis (percentage or fixed) and the rate; any minimum fee; whether VAT is added; what happens to the fee if HMRC reduces or rejects the claim; and the scope and cost of HMRC enquiry support. An enquiry can arrive after a claim is filed, so the time to learn who responds, and at what cost, is before you sign. See what happens in an HMRC random enquiry.

Where Uplift Tax fits

Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. We do not prepare the claim: the HMRC-registered specialist we introduce you to does, and it sets and states its fee in writing before work starts. See how our fees work. The scope of enquiry support is set out in writing in the engagement letter. For each firm set beside an introducer, see Uplift Tax vs Leyton UK and Uplift Tax vs Kene Partners.

Company facts

  • Leyton UK: Companies House name LEYTON UK LIMITED; company number 06977112; status Active; incorporated 30 July 2009; last accounts made up to 30 June 2025. Companies House record (checked 27 October 2026).
  • Kene Partners: Companies House name KENE PARTNERS LIMITED; company number 10813376; status Active; incorporated 12 June 2017; last accounts made up to 30 September 2025. Companies House record (checked 27 October 2026).
  • Uplift Tax: Blue Llama Ltd, trading as Uplift Tax; company number 12642550; status Active; incorporated 3 June 2020; last accounts made up to 29 November 2025. Companies House record (checked 27 October 2026).

Uplift Tax is an introducer, not a tax adviser, accountant or legal firm. Recovery values are indicative only.

Frequently Asked Questions

Neither firm states a fee in the sources we checked on 27 October 2026, so we cannot say. Ask each for a written quote on the same claim and compare the fee basis, minimum fee, VAT and enquiry terms.

The sources we checked on 27 October 2026 do not state this for either firm. Ask each in writing whether the fee depends on the claim succeeding and what happens if HMRC reduces or rejects it.

Neither firm's enquiry terms are stated in the sources we checked on 27 October 2026. Ask each for the scope and cost in writing before you sign.

Kene Partners showed 56 reviews at 4.8 on 27 October 2026. We show no Leyton figure, so we cannot compare counts. A count tells you how many people reviewed, not how any claim turned out.

Leyton UK lists capital allowances on its UK website (checked 27 October 2026). Kene Partners' capital allowances are not stated in the sources we checked.

Request written quotes on the same claim, check the sectors each lists against yours, and compare fee basis, minimum fee, VAT and enquiry terms. Do not choose on review score alone.

The specialist's fee is a percentage of the successful claim, agreed in writing with the specialist before any work starts. Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything.

Send your numbers for a written fee estimate

Tell us your claim size and sector and we will arrange a written fee estimate from the HMRC-registered specialist we introduce you to. You can also try the calculator first. To see how the fees are set, read how our fees work.

Send your numbers for a written fee estimate

Use the calculator · how our fees work · All comparisons

Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything.

Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it with a dated note.